UPNG Open College Phase Out Certificate Programs in 2023


University of Papua New Guinea Open College will no longer enroll new students into it’s Certificate programs through Open and Distance Learning (ODL Model) next year 2023. The University Council has made a decision to phase out or cease offering the Certificate Programs by end of 2023. In 2023 will be the last year for continuing Certificate students to complete their remaining courses and they will pass out. From 2024 academic year, UPNG will be offering only Undergraduate (Diploma/Degree) Programs through ODL Mode across the country through it’s  5 Open Campuses and provincial and district university centers.

Phase Out of Certificate Programs

Since 2004 till 2022, after 18 years of offering Certificate Programs to students cross it’s 18 university study centers across the country, UPNG Council has decided to phase out the Certificate Programs. From 2024 onwards Open College will focus on offering only undergraduate programs. This means, University centers will not enroll any new students under the certificate programs in 2023. The continuing students will complete their remaining course units and pass out.

The phase out is part of the University’s strategic plan to make the University of Papua New Guinea’s presence in the provinces and districts than only in NCD.  Students will have the option to study via Open and Distance Learning (ODL)  mode through their respective provincial and district  university study centers.

University of Papua New Guinea study centers locations.

Currently, the University of Papua New Guinea has a total of 18 study centers across the country. The study centers are categorized as Regional Open Campuses and Provincial University Centers. The following list is the list of provinces and districts where UPNG has a study center located.

UPNG Open College Regional Open Campuses

  1. NCD Open Campus-NCD
  2. Buka Open Campus-AROB
  3. Kokopo Open Campus-ENB
  4. Hagen Open Campus-WHP
  5. Madang Open Campus-Madang

UPNG Open College Provincial University Centers

  1. Enga University Centre-Enga
  2. Simbu University Centre-Simbu
  3. SHP University Centre-SHP
  4. Western University Centre-Daru, Western
  5. West New Britain University Centre-WNB
  6. Morobe University Centre-Morobe
  7. East Sepik University Centre-East Sepik

District University Centers

  1. Kiunga University Centre-Western
  2. Brugram University Centre-ESP
  3. Pomio University Centre-ENB
  4. Esaála University Centre-Milne Bay
  5. Kainantu University Centre-EHP

Application for Grade 12 School Leavers

Normal on campus UPNG selections for current Grade 12 school leavers will be through the DHERST National Online Selection System. For students who missed out from the DHERST online selection but wish to study at UPNG Open College through Open and Distance Learning (ODL) mode will have to apply. Applications for current years’Grade 12 students is extended and close on 31st of January 2023. This will allow ample time for Grade 12st to decide once the DHERST selection results are announced.

For Grade 12 students from previous years and others interested students can apply as Non-School Leavers Application when UPNG call for applications is made in the local newspapers and via its website www.upng.ac.pg

Current programs on offer through ODL mode

University of Papua New Guinea has four academic schools. School of Natural and Physical Sciences (SNPS), School of Humanities and Social Sciences (SHSS), School of Business and Public Policy (SBPP), School of Law (SOL) and School of Medical and Health Sciences (SMHS). Currently only three schools have programs for ODL mode of study as follows:

School of Business and Public Policy (SBPP)

  1. Bachelors in Accounting
  2. Diploma in Accounting
  3. Diploma in Business Management

All students interested in these programs will do first year Business Management Foundation Year and upon successful completion of the first year, they can stream into any of the above programs.

School of Humanities and Social Sciences (SHSS)

  1. Bachelor of Arts- First Year only
  2. Bachelor of Arts-Professional Studies in Education

 School of Natural and Physical Sciences (SNPS)

  1. Science Foundation Year (SFY)-First year only

Note: For SHSS and SNPS, only the first year is done through ODL mode. If a student completes the first year successfully, then the schools will select them to continue into 2nd Year as on campus student.

In the near future, students will have to complete 2nd, 3rd and 4th year fully through ODL mode, more programs are offered through ODL mode.

For more information

For more information, visit the UPNG website www.upng.ac.pg  or visit a UPNG Study Centre in the provincial towns and districts as listed above.